Cranberry and Dark Chocolate Wholewheat Cookies

IMG_1124 My life is a constant struggle between my love of food, and my wish to be skinny. Let’s just avoid the whole female body image shabang (that I talk about here) and take note that these cookies have wholewheat flour, dark chocolate AND fruit in them. If that’s not a health food then I don’t even know. On that note we are also definitely avoiding new years resolutions to be skinny, eat well, go to the gym 8 times a week and generally look like Miranda Kerr.IMG_1119

This wholewheat flour situation actually occurred because of the oomph they provided to the chilli carrot cupcakes. I assumed if they beefed up a cupcake they would beef up a cookie. And damnnn, was I right, the addition of wholewheat provides the best density you could ever get in a cookie (unless you are eating raw cookie dough; in which case I salute you, you win, #perfdensity).IMG_1126

So make these, put on your best dress, the one that hugs in all the right places and totally pulls in your stomach (or if your me, put on a dress, tie it up some how and wear it with a skirt; legit 99% of the time I wear my dresses as tops), paint your nails and go have fun.

You can also make these as a, “Sorry I ran out of lemons and tried to give you vodka and soda with raspberries, I know it tasted bad.” present, because I totally did that.

IMG_1120IMG_1127Ingredients
125 grams of wholewheat flour
110 grams of all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
115 grams of butter, slightly softened
200 grams of brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
Big handful of dried cranberries plus extra for topping
100 grams Dark Chocolate chopped into pieces plus extra for topping

Method
1. Sift the flours, baking soda and salt together in a small bowl.
2. Mix butter and sugar together on a low-speed until light and fluffy.
3. Add the eggs one at a time, and finish with the vanilla.
4. In small amounts (to avoid flour clouds) add the flour to the wet mixture, turn off the mixer when not adding flour to avoid overmixing.
5. When a dough has formed, add the cranberries and chocolate.
6. Drop the dough on to cling wrap and roll into a log, and freeze. Baking from frozen stops the cookie from melting all over the show whilst baking; this keeps a nice round shape and bakes evenly.
7. Slice and Bake for 12-20 minutes (depending on size).
8. Add extra chocolate and cranberries to the still warm cookies.

2 thoughts on “Cranberry and Dark Chocolate Wholewheat Cookies

  1. I just saw your comment in Lauren Conrad’s forum and I thought I’d check your blog out.. I actually really like it! Maybe you’d like to check mine out as well. 🙂 It’s vickynspiration.blogspot.com .

    xx

Leave a Reply

